• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

I'm new to this - XP 1800+ Overclocking

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Illah

OK, I got an XP 1800+ with a Dragon Orb III on it. What kind of overclocking do you think I could do with this? It's on an MSI K7T 266 Pro2 board, my PC2100 has heatsinks on it, I think I'm good to go for a start with overclocking.

The reason I as is I'm a poor *** college student here... I busted my balls to get my machine together and I really don't want to break anything, especially while it's new! I've read that the Dragon Orb III isn't the best CPU cooler out there, but's it's too late to change for the time being. Plus it looks cool and I care about that crap.

What can I say, I'm in an art school...

--Illah

Illah said:
OK, I got an XP 1800+ with a Dragon Orb III on it. What kind of overclocking do you think I could do with this? It's on an MSI K7T 266 Pro2 board, my PC2100 has heatsinks on it, I think I'm good to go for a start with overclocking.

The reason I as is I'm a poor *** college student here... I busted my balls to get my machine together and I really don't want to break anything, especially while it's new! I've read that the Dragon Orb III isn't the best CPU cooler out there, but's it's too late to change for the time being. Plus it looks cool and I care about that crap.

What can I say, I'm in an art school...

--Illah
First off you want to download some kind of monitoring software so you can keep an eye on your temps (cough orb cough) like MBM (motherboard monitor) if your cpu temps are high to begin with 40 - 45 c there is really no room for ocing until you get better cooling (witch im sure they will be) Second you will only be able to raise the FSB unless you plan on unlocking your CPU...

Last edited: