• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

OC noob needs help

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

jorisje123456

http://i25.tinypic.com/idgkyh.jpg

Ok so if I try to apply this overclock (which isn't even an overclock, but my E8400 is running 333 fsb out the box) (save to CMOS etc.) my system shuts down, then 'restarts' (I hear the fans running for a few secs and it shuts down again, screen remains black), shuts down, then boots again after a few seconds with my overclock settings reset. Obviously I'm doing something wrong, but what? I'm completely new to this, rig is in sig.

:welcome: to the forums!

To answer your question: memory speeds are too high -- change it from Auto to 2.00B...

Yea figured it was something with the memory, just didn't know what lol. I'll try it in a bit and reply

edit: it worked! Thanks!

Last edited:
To be honest, you're going about it all wrong to begin with.

The best way to start this is to seperate your memory and CPU overclocking... Start by setting ALL the voltages to 100% stock, set your CPU multiplier to 6x and your memory ratio to something like 5:4, 2:3 or even 1:2 (you want it as high as is reasonably attainable)

Now begin turning up the FSB in small increments -- and no, going from 333 -> 375 is not a small increment ;) Test with MemTest86 as you go up until you find a place where the memory becomes unstable, then add memory voltages in small doses until it's stable again -- or until you need to start adjusting timings because the volts are getting to high. Then, again, start moving the FSB upwards. Eventually you'll find where your memory hits it's ceiling -- write all the speeds, timings and voltages down.