• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Overclocking and Linux

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Bird333

I don't know if this is the proper forum for this, but here goes. Btw, I am new at linux (well sorta, tried before but never managed to use it much). I am trying to install Mandrake 10.1 on a celeron 566 o/c to 850 (voltage bumped up to 1.75 from 1.5). I get to the initial graphical screen where you choose to install/upgrade. After I choose install, a progress bar goes across the screen and then it seems the system crashes. I just get a black screen. The cd-rw drive with the linux disk in it flickers a few times after the screen goes out and then nothing. I really am not sure if it is the cpu or the video card that is flaking out. I would lean toward the cpu/memory, but I remember having problems when I tried to install Mandrake 8 awhile ago with my TNT 16 meg card. I replaced that card with a TNT 2 Ultra 32meg card and LM 8 installed fine. So I figured something was wrong with the card, even though windows ran fine with it. Just as a test, I went through a WinXP install with the TNT 2 card and things went fine. Is there something about Mandrake that doesn't like Nvidia cards? Does LM 'work' the system harder than windows does? What could be the problem here? Here are my system specs.

Abit BX6 motherboard
Celeron 566 CPU O/C to 850 with an Abit Slotket
256 Megs of SDRAM (4 64 meg sticks, one in each available slot)
TNT 2 Ultra 32 meg video card
soundblaster AWE64 ISA card (no speakers connected)
SMC 1211TX NIC 10/100
Western Digital 40 gig ide HD
1.44 3.5" floppy
Lite-On 48x cd-rw

TIA for any thoughts or suggestions.

Last edited:
Personally, I never install an OS from scratch while overclocked. You have too little margin of error for file corruption on the way.