• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Overclocking [email protected] | Very High Temps | Please Advise

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Kattmandu

I'm new to overclocking and wanted some OC veterans to take a look at my setup and offer some tips/advice/suggestions/etc. I've spent the past few days reading through threads that are specific to my setup and I've also read through some overclocking guides. I've learned a lot but probably just enough to be dangerous. :eek:

I am using IntelBurnTest to stress test and RealTemp to monitor the core temps. I was able to run the stress test for an hour with the setting as shown below but the idle/load temps on the first core were 45C/93C. I've read that the max temp is 100C and most overclockers like to stay below 80C so my temps are a concern to me. I don't have the best cpu cooler; it's a Cooler Master Hyper N520 #RR-920-N520-GP with the fans in a push/pull configuration exhausting out the back. I ordered a Thermalright Venomous-X RT and IC Diamond TIM in hopes to bring those temps down.

Advanced Frequency Settings:
CPU Clock Ratio ................................ [21x]
QPI Link Speed ................................. [x36]
Uncore Frequency ............................... [x17]
>>> Standard Clock Control
Base Clock (BCLK) Control ...................... [Enabled]
BCLK Frequency (MHz) ........................... [200]
PCI Express Frequency (MHz) .................... [101]
>>> Advanced Clock Control
CPU Clock Drive ................................ [800mV]
PCI Express Clock Drive ........................ [900mV]
CPU Clock Skew ................................. [0]
IOH Clock Skew ................................. [0]
>>> Advanced CPU Core Features
Intel(R) Turbo Boost Tech ...................... [Disabled]