• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Need help overclocking Phenom x4 9950 Black Edition

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

xxjoe1121xx

Registered
i have amd phenom x4 9950 black edition stock 2.6ghz
asus m2n-e mobo
8gigs of 6400 ddr2 800mhz
radeon 5450 512mb gddr5 graphics
1x 1 terrabyte 2x 250gig hdd

mobo is flashed to the latest bios for that chip

my question is i started over clocking this a few weeks ago...now im new to this so im sure there is a step or 2 that im missing somewhere that its not letting me really turn this up that much...right now its stable at 2913.4mhz with a min-max temps from 41-52*C right now typing this it seems happy at 43 pretty steady. im booted into windows 7 ultimate 64bit

cpu speed is set at 200mhz with a 14.5 multiplier and voltage is set to auto...

i have a cooler master hyper N 520 RR-920-N520-GP currently on its way...odered it off newegg.ca 4 days ago.

i guess my question is is this 2.913 all im goona get out of this rig?

First off I want to say :welcome:

If you raise your multiplier one more notch does it crash? also could you download CPUz and take a screen shot with the cpu, mainboard and memory tabs open?

from there we will be able to better help you with more information.

good first post with 95% of the information needed to help you along :thup:

once again :welcome:

Edit: also are those your load temps?

yes, if i turn the multiplier up to 15 it crashes as soon as windows starts. the temps i posted were from idle to... well the only load ive really put on was the windows assesment and that peaked at 53*c. surfing web its steady at 42-43*c

i dont know how to do screenshots on here...kind of a noob at that stuff...