• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

A new Chimp Challenge

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

theGryphon

Hey guys,
First off, congratulations on CC2012! You really earned the Jaded Monkey! :)

I've been participating or observing CC since 2009, and my observation is that the most problematic aspect of CC is also what makes it so different and special: changing clients to Chimp names. I've seen it holding back many folders from participating, causing within-team discussions/frictions, which in turn can go as far as donors or teams to swear off CC. I think we all agree that this aspect of CC is both valuable but troublesome at the same time.

I believe the biggest reason why changing CC names is not favored is because personal recognition/objectives are important for some donors (more than others). I believe we should all respect their point of view. On the other hand, there are others who are in it to win it for the Team. I believe we should all respect their point of view, as well. But then, when things heat-up, especially when losing, there starts finger-pointing within the team.

So, I've been thinking how to manage this; keeping the specialty of CC while minimizing the issues it causes. There is basically no way without trade-offs, but as simple as it is, I believe what I'm going to propose will make things "better" ;)

Proposal: Each participating party in the CC, create a new Chimp team (yes, team). Donors who wants to participate in CC for this Chimp team change their team number accordingly, while keeping their username.

Question/Comment: What?? New teams?? WTF?
Answer: Yes, new teams for Chimp names. Was that a question?

Q/C: How is it different from Chimp usernames?