• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

AMD FX 8120 multiplier stuck at 17x

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

tomdabomb

Hey guys,
I am very new to overclocking so don't laugh too hard when i say something really dumb :p.
But I was trying to overclock my AMD FX 8120 to around 4.5ghz but my multiplier won't go past 17x. Is this a problem with the CPU or am I making a mistake. I have the Gigaybyte 990FXa-D3.
Current settings:(Although its at 220X17)
CPU 220 X20
NB 2200
HT 2200
1333 RAM (corsair vengeance 16gb)
Also if anyone knows any good sites where I could copy settings, then that would be great :D.
Thanks for any help!
-Tom

Also if anyone knows any good sites where I could copy settings, then that would be great = see if there is a good Gigabyte forum. Nothing like that here.

Have you tried a bios update?

i have the 990FXA-UD5. different boards all there own though, but luckily the best FX overclocking guide on the internetz is done by someone with a UD-7. You won't find a guide to OC your exact same board and CPU.

But, to define you can't go above a multi of 17, what do you mean by this. Is it greyed out or does your computer not want to start once you have it set to 17.5. To recall, with my mobo I think I had a bit of issues when I first got my setup trying to go over a multi of 17. Think the computer didn't wanna start. FSB was still at 200. So i flashed to F10b BIOS and haven't had any issues since.

What's your temps like?
Do you have a fan blowing on the VRM's?