• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

AMD Phenom II X4 955 Overclocking Help - I am a noob!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Shadedluck

Registered
Hey guys, was wondering if I could get some massive help with overclocking my cpu. Let me know everything you need to help me out, I will get right on it!

Last edited:
I have the coolermaster hyper 212 plus, I think. Getting those screenshots now.

Look at CPU-z "CPU" tab. Look how low your core speed and core voltage is. Obviously, you still have the "green" power saving stuff is still on. Go into bios and disable Cool N Quiet, C1E and then go into Windows Control Panel Power Options and configure it to High Performance.

Now, download and install HWMonitor. Open it on the desktop and leave it open. Now run a Prime95 blend test for 20 minutes and post back with an attached pic of HWMonitor after the Prime95 stress test. That will give us a look at temps. Also attach a new pic of CPU-z "CPU" tab.

To be honest, I had no idea whatsoever that my green settings were on. Would this greatly affect videogames, now that I'm at the right core speed?

Your max core temps at 54c are higher than I would have expected with a good aftermarket CPU cooler like you have when things are at stock frequencies and voltages. But there is another major component to avoiding high temps and that is good case ventilation. If you are not removing the warm air coming off the CPU cooler and the motherboard at a sufficient rate, it is building up and then you are trying to cool the cooler with warm air.

Tell us about your case: make and model. Number, size (120mm? 92MM? 80mm?) and placement of the fans and how they are placed in an intake and exhaust sense.