• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

fx8370 oc help

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

J0ker

Registered
When I run small FFT for around 10-15 minutes it passes, when I run blend it fails after a few minutes. Can someone please explain why? This is my first time overclocking

Attachments

• overclock.png
    overclock.png
    382.2 KB · Views: 154
Blend stresses ram also. Check your timings and voltage.
Pretty low vcore for 4.7

Blend stresses ram also. Check your timings and voltage.
Pretty low vcore for 4.7

Ram timings and voltage are set to stock. Since it passed small fft after 15 minutes and fails blend after a couple minutes shouldn't that mean cpu oc is good and there's something else wrong?

15 minutes isn't enough of any stress test to confirm stability, 2 hours minimum. If you're failing Blend I'd bet it's due to the stress that 16g of ram is putting on the Imc. What are the entire specs of the system and what is the Cpu Nb voltage set at. I also agree with Scotty 1.36 V is pretty low for 4.7 Ghz.

15 minutes isn't enough of any stress test to confirm stability, 2 hours minimum. If you're failing Blend I'd bet it's due to the stress that 16g of ram is putting on the Imc. What are the entire specs of the system and what is the Cpu Nb voltage set at. I also agree with Scotty 1.36 V is pretty low for 4.7 Ghz.

FX8370
Asus Sabertooth 990fx r2.0
16gb ddr3 1866 trident x
EVGA G2 1300W
850 EVO 250gb
WD Black 1tb
Saphire r9 390x

cpu/nb is at 1.3

Raised cpu voltage to 1.38

Last edited:
many 8 core cpu's take 1.404 to run 4.7, test it at 1.38, if it runs longer and fails raise it another bump.
at 16 gigs raise the cpu/nb voltage a bump or two.

and a lot of these 6 and 8 cores don't like 4 sticks of ram.
just saw the spd, you have 2x8 gigs.