• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Overclock on Foxconn A6VMX

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

SirBillGatesJnr

Registered
Right now I'm about to start on my Phenom 9500 2.2Ghz chip (NOT black edition), and I notice I can only change the voltage and clock but not the multiplier as it's locked. I can also change the RAM voltages. All this is from the BIOS, as the lame overclocking utility Foxconn provided for Windows doesn't keep your settings when you make a change!

Has anyone any tips for overclocking this CPU?

I'm a relative noob at this having only overclocked a couple of times in the past.

:welcome: to OCF!

The only way to OC that system is by increasing the clock speed. Start by entering the important BIOS settings manually; four main RAM timings, vDIMM (RAM voltage), RAM divider, HT Link multiplier, CPU multiplier, clock speed, & vCore (CPU voltage) - at a minimum. Does that board have ACC (SB750)? If so, leave ACC on Auto.

With all that set slowly increase the clock speed starting at 210 MHz and increasing in jumps of 5 MHz. Stress test each clock for a few minutes with OCCT to check for stability. When you get unstable, increase the vCore by 0.05v but don't exceed 1.45v. Keep a close watch on temps with CoreTemp. If you start to exceed 50°C then you're approaching your limit.

This was written for the AM2 system, not AM2+, but it covers the basics of OC'ing. There will be some differences but the concepts are still the same ... :)
http://www.ocforums.com/showthread.php?t=555058