• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

P4P800 Deluxe Noob needs help

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

llitz123

I originally posted this in another forum - then got a little help and did some tinkering. Then I think I asked too many questions and people stopped helping :confused:

So I thought I would try here for some more pointers.

Total noob here lookin for some help!

My system:
P4 3.0 (800Mhz FSB)
ZALMAN CNPS7000 CPU FAN
P4P800 Deluxe
Nexus NX-4000 PSU
2x 512 Corsair PC-3500C2PT
Dual Raptor RAID 0

I would really appreciate it if someone who successfully overclocked a similar configuration could walk me thru the bios settings for optimal overclocking.

What I am looking to do is find someone with a stable overclock, mimic the settings and then play around from there. Just need a starting point.

Little background:

I got system to 225x15 with the CPU VCore @ 1.6 - using this guide for a basis:
http://forums.tacticalgamer.com/showthread.php?t=3770

The core speed is 3375

I benched using PCMark04 and got 4692. Every other config above 225 was unstable - the PCMark04 would freeze.

Temp idle is 33C for CPU, 39C for mobo.

When I tried to turn on turbo mode, it froze.

I used the memory timings and all the info from the link above and then just dropped the FSB to 225 to make it more stable.

When I used the ASUS built in Overclocker and set core speed to 3400, my PCMark04 was 4400, so the current core speed of 3375 is faster, so I guess I'm happy (dunno how much difference 292 points in PCMark04 really is). If the system is unstable, I'll prolly go back to the ASUS built in overclocker and the turbo mode.