• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

PhenomX4 9750 OC and his problem.

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Cloudheaven

Registered
Hi all! I'm pretty new to the OC, but now I would like to know how to do this safely!
If I try to apply a slight OC at the CPU (only 100mhz from stock) it crashes when is at full load,
but only with a certain software (Battlefield 3), all the other applications like rendering, games, programs runs well without freeze.
The entire temp system is cool, CPU temp at full is under 55°C, Intel Burn Test is ok at maximum stress level.

This is the BSOD that windows gave me.

My spec:

CPU: AMD Phenom 9750 X4 cooled by Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 PRO
RAM: 4GB Kingston 800mhz (2-2)
MoBo: Asus M4N78SE bios 1401 (latest BIOS)
VGA: GTX560 @stock
PSU: LC Power 650w

I'd like to know if anyone can gently tell me what kind of problem I have and
how I could solve it to manage a little OC without freeze, BSOD or problem.

My goal is to reach 2.6ghz from a stock of 2.4ghz.

Thanks in advance.

Welcome! First of all, please download and install these three standard overclocking tools which we use for reporting, testing and monitoring: HWMonitor, CPU-a and Prime95. Open HWMonitor on the desktop and leave it open while you run the Prime95 blend test for 20 minutes (if it will run that long). Then please report back to us what your maximum core temps were. One of the things we need to do here is get on the same page with our terminology. You reported a maximum "CPU" temp of 55c. What is more important is to know what the core temps are. HWmonitor will tell us that.