• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Unknown CPU

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Cornish

Hi Guys,
Total Newbie here, but I need some help.
Scrapped a customers computer today and came across an Intel CPU I couldn't identify.
The markings on it are as follows:
INTEL CONFIDENTIAL
QXTN-ES MALAY
HH80562XJ0808M
L713A284

and then on the wafer itself:
A0412

The motherboard its fitted to is an Asus Striker 2 Formula.
Any help out there?
Many Thanks.

It's QX6850 i think. Hehe, posted the same sec. Well i guess we'r right about this then.

Upon second inspection I think that's actually an old PIII Celeron. Just send it to me and I'll ensure it is recycled properly.

:D

The system came into my shop as non booting. After diagnosing a dead psu and quoting him on a Tagan to replace his existing high end Antec, he was concerned that the rest of the system was just as old and may also give him further trouble.
So he's ordered a Quad core Phenom system, and told me to do what I like with the old one.
Sounds like the cpu is quite rare then.
Does the INTEL CONFIDENTIAL mean it was for testing purpose and not for general release?
Where would it have come from?
Sorry to throw so many questions about, just being curious guys.

Its an Engineering Sample. Its not released to the public except for a few sites/testers as far as i know.

The QX9650 was a VERY expensive chip in its day. Look in my sig. The Q9650 I have is STILL $320 new. The QX9650 has to be more considering. Really, the system he is building is just as fast as the one he is trashing.

I'm not sure he understood what he had, he's not computer literate but needs a decent system for simulating fire spreading though buildings.