• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

1.2 GHz -> 3.2 GHz = $200? But...

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Phoenix '971

Registered
For this discussion, I will assume Canadian dollars. ($1 Cdn. ~ $0.75 U.S.).

Summary: I am a semi-poor university student considering upgrading to a P4 Celeron setup as opposed to an Athlon or P4 setup which may cost a few hundred dollars more. Not a serious gamer.

I am considering purchasing a used Asus P4B motherboard ($60) plus a Celeron 2.4 GHz (~$140 w/ tax) to replace my Celeron 1.2 GHz, 512MB SDRAM, i815EP motherboard/CPU system. I consider myself to be a casual overclocker, where I select a CPU that has good overclocking potential, and push it as far as it'll reasonably go, with stock or slightly better cooling (i.e., take the side of the case off. :p ). Having a look at the CPU Database, it seems like 3 GHz+ appears to be a reasonable overclock for this CPU.
Now, will this setup give me a reasonable performance boost for the money? Taking into account I don't upgrade all that often; I've been using the above 1.2 GHz setup for over 2 years now.
I understand the Celeron has sub-par performance (I've read the recent Anandtech review) and that one would likely recommend me an Athlon XP or something, but if I were to do that I would need to get a new board and replace all my RAM. Considering the following cost for an "equivalent" Athlon XP 2400+ system:
Asus A7N8X-X - $125
Athlon XP 2400+ - 125
512MB PC3200 - $102
This comes to just over $400 with taxes (tax rate is 14%).
I know that in the first scenario I'm getting a used board but no one seems to be offering a used Socket A board now.