• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Best P4 mobo for overclocking?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Icarus

Hi guys! As you can see, I'm new to the forums. I've been reading this forum for a long time now but this is my first time posting.

I've recently purchased a P4 2.4B Costa Rica SL6RZ from Pham's computers. From what I understand, these chips are supposed to be the JIUHBs of Pentiums (or pretty close, anyway ;) ) But problem is, my overclocking experience seems to have hit a stone wall at 2.61ghz. I'm pretty sure its my mobo's fault (Gigabyte GA-8GE667 PRO) since that was the exact same limit on my older 2.4b Malay chip. I've heard a lot of rumours saying that Gigabyte boards totally suck at overclocking.

Anyway, I'm looking to get a new motherboard, one's that good for overclocking. I'm hoping to spend less than $180 on this purchase. Thanks in advance for any replies! :)

(btw, the ram that I'm using is 512mb x 2 Corsair PC3200LL TwinX)

I would go with an Abit board, great for stability and they are overclocknig friendly and you can easily get a modded bios.

I have no idea. didn't pay attention to that. its stuck beneath my 780g Zalman CNPS-6500 now. lol

I bought it from Pham's computer. Does that help?

pham's guarentees the SL6RZ, but the catch is they don't garuente the good oc'ers, the "L" and "3" chips. the "Q" chips are bad news, got one of those a few weeks ago and couldn't oc it for anything. in all honesty it's worth pulling your HSF and checking it out.

dang. that was close. almost bought the farm just now. I accidentally bent a few pins while taking out the CPU. For a moment, I thought I just blew 168 bucks.

Anyway, the full serial/batch number is as follows:

SL6RZ Costa Rica
33009A256 - 1113

Do any of these numbers ring a bell?