• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Building A New Rig and Would Love Suggestions =P

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Gwiggles

Hi fellow Over Clockers!

I'm building a new rig this coming November and have started working out which parts I'm thinking of putting in the beast. Obviously, I'll be using this for gaming and not really anything else. I have lots of experience OCing my laptop (2.4Ghz T7700 --> 2.9GhZ Stable AND 8700m GT 625 Core Clock --> 755 {1540 Shader}) and I'm planning on OCing this system to its maximum potential.

Here is what I was thinking:
Asus Maximus II Formula Mobo (Looks so good amirite?)

Q9550 Quad Core (2.83GHz). How much do you think I'll be able to overclock this? Also, I have the option to get the "EO" version, but I have no idea what this means. lol Can someone help me out with this? 0.o

ATI Radeon 4870X2. Can someone explain to me why all these "2-Slot" cards must have the Cool Looking side facing down? >.> It makes no sense to me; I don't want to see the underbelly of this card all the time, I want to see the cool design on the fan, ect.

300GB VelociRaptor 10k RPM. Is two of these in Raid 0 worth it? Also, If I buy one now, can I buy another later and just install it and start working with Raid 0. Would I have to start from Ground zero to get Raid 0 working if I did this?

Apevia 900W Warlock. I don't know much about power supplies.

OCZ Reaper HPC (2x 2gb sticks). How much do you think I would be able to Overclock these sticks? 1200?...easily?

Asus Lion Square Vapo Bearing CPU Cooler. When it comes to Heatsinks I don't know WTF I'm doing, I just like something that looks good. If you can't already tell, I'm going for a rig that doesn't just perform well, but it looks OMGWTFBBQ cool too.