• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

CD-R & OS problems

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

dessl

Hi,

I'm a first time PC builder and having some probs with the CD-R and also installing the Win98SE OS.

* Using the startup diskette, the ramdisk gets created but the cd-r driver only gets loaded maybe 10% of time. The other 90%, I'm getting a "File not found" message and the cd-r driver doesn't get loaded. When I recreate the startup diskette on my existing pc, I'm sometimes successful loading the driver - but the startup diskette seems to be only one-time use, and the next time I try it get the file not found message again.

* Those few times I have loaded the cd-r drivers, I have tried unsuccessfully to install the Win98. Have tried running setup.exe from the CD, and also copying the files to the c: drive and running it. Encountered various probs, including: hang-ups, disk errors during scandisk (after fixing them, more hang ups), messages about corrupt command.com and .cab files.

If it's relevant, specs: Soyo KT 333 Ultra mobo, Athlon 2000 XP cpu, 80GB HD (only one partition), Lite-On CDRW. Have checked all switches and connections and they seem ok. Have not yet flashed the BIOS. Have re-formatted and re-partioned multiple times.

If anyone has any ideas I'd really be grateful -- I'm nearly at the end of my rope! Thanks in advance for your help.

Dess

Hey, first of all, welcome to the neighborhood!

On some systems I've built, I've had problems using a boot floppy disk for 98SE. My solution has just been to boot from the CD, which has always worked like a charm.

I don't know how familiar you are, but here is the list of stuff you have to do to install Win98SE: