• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

E5200 OC

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Vipersfate

Member
Joined
Jan 24, 2006
Location
Colorado
Got me a nice E5200 here that's being bored of running at stock speeds all the time.

I've recently tried a 1-5% increase and my motherboard won't post up. Have to clear the CMOS on my nifty little GA-965P-DS3 Rev 3.3 everytime I even push the FSB up 1 Mhz.

Anyone have some ideas on what I can do, as well as what the stock voltage is for this CPU?
 
OP
Vipersfate

Vipersfate

Member
Joined
Jan 24, 2006
Location
Colorado
Currently using the latest beta bios (the board wouldn't post with the CPU in it unless I did the beta bios)
 

lokie

Member
Joined
Mar 9, 2004
Location
Hornell, New york.
Ok tell us what u r running 4 volts and stuff. I have had three ds3s and i found that if the voltage wasn't just right on the cpu u couldn't do **** with it. It didn't matter what cpu u were trying to run in it either. Plus the memory adjustments had to be just right also. post all of your voltage settings and we can go from there ok. Them boards for some reason dont like to remember **** if u dont do it just right.:thup:
 

redduc900

Inactive Moderator
Joined
Dec 17, 2000
Location
Portland, OR
Stock voltage for the CPU is what's called VID (Voltage ID), which can be found using a program like Real Temp--> 'Settings' page--> Max Core VID. Post a direct link to your specific RAM, showing SPD timings and default voltage. And fill out this BIOS template w/ all of your current settings (disregard the settings in the template, and replace w/ your own)...

Code:
Robust Graphics Booster___________ [Auto]
CPU Clock Ratio ____________ [9] 
CPU Host Clock Control_ [Enabled]
CPU Host Frequency (MHz)__________ [266] 
PCI Express Frequency (Mhz)_______ [100]
C.I.A. 2__________________________ [Disabled]
System Memory Multiplier (SPD)____ [3.00]
High Speed DRAM DLL Settings ______[Option 1]
DRAM Timing Selectable_______ SPD __ [Manual]

Performance Enhance = [Normal]

CAS Latency Time________________ 5
Dram RAS# to CAS# Delay_________ 5
Dram RAS# Precharge Delay_______5
Precharge Delay (tRAS)__________ 18

ACT to ACT Delay (tRRD)_________ 3
Rank Write to READ Delay________ 3
Write to Precharge Delay_________ 6
Refresh to ACT Delay______________42
Read to Precharge Delay__________ 3

System Voltage Control____ [Manual]
DDR2 OverVoltage Control__ [+0.1V] 
PCI-E OverVoltage Control_ [+0.1V] 
FSB OverVoltage Control___ [+0.1V] 
(G)MCH OverVoltage Control [+0.1V] 
CPU Voltage Control_______ [Normal]
( Normal CPU Vcore_________[1.325000V] )

Limit CPUID Max. to 3.....................: [Disabled]
No-Execute Memory Protect............: [Enabled]
CPU Enhanced Halt (C1E)................: [Disabled]
C2/C2E State Support....................: [Disabled]
x C4/C4E State Support..................: [Disabled]
CPU Thermal Monitor 2(TM2) ...........: [Enabled]
CPU EIST Function.........................: [Disabled]
Virtualization Technology................: [Enabled] 

Integrated Peripherals
Legacy USB Storage Detect___________________[Enabled]
 
OP
Vipersfate

Vipersfate

Member
Joined
Jan 24, 2006
Location
Colorado
According the Realtemp, my VID is 1.225v.

These are the current options with my setup. Anything listed with no option are options that I do not have in this BIOS. The part listed in blue don't exist entirely in my system. My options at stock are sitting in Bold. I find it odd that I have no control over the RAM timings. When I set the CPU Host Clock Control to enabled, And change the Host Frequency up even just 1 Mhz, the system will not post.

RAM is as follows.

OCZ Fatal1ty

Robust Graphics Booster___________ [Auto]
CPU Clock Ratio ____________ [12]
CPU Host Clock Control_ [Disabled]
CPU Host Frequency (MHz)__________ [100]Greyed Out
PCI Express Frequency (Mhz)_______ [Auto]
C.I.A. 2__________________________ [Disabled]
System Memory Multiplier (SPD)____ [Auto]
High Speed DRAM DLL Settings ______[Option 1]
DRAM Timing Selectable_______ SPD __ [No Option]

Performance Enhance = [No option]

CAS Latency Time________________ 5
Dram RAS# to CAS# Delay_________ 5
Dram RAS# Precharge Delay_______5
Precharge Delay (tRAS)__________ 18

ACT to ACT Delay (tRRD)_________ 3
Rank Write to READ Delay________ 3
Write to Precharge Delay_________ 6
Refresh to ACT Delay______________42
Read to Precharge Delay__________ 3

System Voltage Control____ [Manual]
DDR2 OverVoltage Control__ [Normal]
PCI-E OverVoltage Control_ [Normal]
FSB OverVoltage Control___ [Normal]
(G)MCH OverVoltage Control [Normal]
CPU Voltage Control_______ [Normal]
( Normal CPU Vcore_________[1.225000V] )

Limit CPUID Max. to 3.....................: [Disabled]
No-Execute Memory Protect............: [Enabled]
CPU Enhanced Halt (C1E)................: [Enabled]
C2/C2E State Support....................: [No Option]
x C4/C4E State Support..................: [No Option]
CPU Thermal Monitor 2(TM2) ...........: [Enabled]
CPU EIST Function.........................: [Disabled]
Virtualization Technology................: [No Option]

Integrated Peripherals
Legacy USB Storage Detect___________________[Enabled]

BWAHA! Edit: Looks like Gigabyte finally did a release of the F14 BIOS. It's not beta anymore. Gonna update shortly.

Edit 2: Updated the BIOS and the same options aren't available. Can't mess with timings at all.
 
Last edited:

redduc900

Inactive Moderator
Joined
Dec 17, 2000
Location
Portland, OR
You'll need to hit Ctrl+F1 at the main BIOS screen in order to unhide / unlock the M.I.T. (MB Intelligent Tweaker) settings function.
 
OP
Vipersfate

Vipersfate

Member
Joined
Jan 24, 2006
Location
Colorado
CAS Latency Time________________ 6
Dram RAS# to CAS# Delay_________ 6
Dram RAS# Precharge Delay_______6
Precharge Delay (tRAS)__________ 18

ACT to ACT Delay (tRRD)_________ 3
Rank Write to READ Delay________ 3
Write to Precharge Delay_________ 6
Refresh to ACT Delay______________45
Read to Precharge Delay__________ 3


Updated with the Ctrl+F1 Key. Apparently, my ram is 5-4-4-18, but my board is showing 6-6-6-18, or is that incorrect?
 

redduc900

Inactive Moderator
Joined
Dec 17, 2000
Location
Portland, OR
Yes that's incorrect. The BIOS has probably lowered the DRAM voltage to 1.8V at 6-6-6-18 (looser timings reflect the 'High Speed DRAM DLL Settings' option set to 'Option 1'), which you can verify by posting a pic. of CPU-Z open to the SPD tab. Set the 'High Speed DRAM DLL Settings' option to Disabled, w/ 'DRAM Timing Selectable' changed from AUTO to Manual. You'll then be able to manually change the four primary timings to 5-4-4-18, w/ all of the sub-timings on AUTO. Also change DDR2 OverVoltage Control from Normal to +0.2 - +0.3V, since the RAM is rated at 2.1V. You should be able to verify the DRAM voltage after saving and exiting the BIOS, then re-entering to the PC Health Status page (adjust OverVoltage Control as necessary to achieve 2.1V).

With CPU Host Clock Control set to Enabled, change the Host frequency to 200MHz, w/ the CPU Clock Ratio set to 12.5. Change Performance Enhance to Standard, and System memory Multiplier to 4.00 (equates to a 200MHz MCH 'A' strap = 1:2 FSB : DRAM ratio = 800MHz effective DRAM frequency at a FSB of 200MHz.)
 
OP
Vipersfate

Vipersfate

Member
Joined
Jan 24, 2006
Location
Colorado
Awesome, changing those settings till posted. Here's a CPU Z shot.

Untitled.png

I checked the High Speed DRAM DLL Settings, and there doesn't happen to be an Option to disable it. Only option 1 and option 2. Currently using Option 1. voltage for DRAM is set a +0.3v atm, and it seems to be running stable.

Where should I go from here?
 
OP
Vipersfate

Vipersfate

Member
Joined
Jan 24, 2006
Location
Colorado
Robust Graphics Booster___________ [Auto]
CPU Clock Ratio ____________ [12.5]
CPU Host Clock Control_ [Manual]
CPU Host Frequency (MHz)__________ [200]
PCI Express Frequency (Mhz)_______ [Auto]
C.I.A. 2__________________________ [Disabled]
System Memory Multiplier (SPD)____ [4.00]
High Speed DRAM DLL Settings ______[Option 1]
DRAM Timing Selectable_______ SPD __ [Manual]

Performance Enhance = [Normal]

CAS Latency Time________________ 5
Dram RAS# to CAS# Delay_________ 4
Dram RAS# Precharge Delay_______4
Precharge Delay (tRAS)__________ 18

ACT to ACT Delay (tRRD)_________ 3
Rank Write to READ Delay________ 3
Write to Precharge Delay_________ 6
Refresh to ACT Delay______________45
Read to Precharge Delay__________ 3

System Voltage Control____ [Manual]
DDR2 OverVoltage Control__ [+0.3v]
PCI-E OverVoltage Control_ [Normal]
FSB OverVoltage Control___ [Normal]
(G)MCH OverVoltage Control [Normal]
CPU Voltage Control_______ [Normal]
( Normal CPU Vcore_________[1.225000V] )

Limit CPUID Max. to 3.....................: [Disabled]
No-Execute Memory Protect............: [Enabled]
CPU Enhanced Halt (C1E)................: [Disabled]
C2/C2E State Support....................: [No Option]
x C4/C4E State Support..................: [No Option]
CPU Thermal Monitor 2(TM2) ...........: [Enabled]
CPU EIST Function.........................: [Disabled]
Virtualization Technology................: [No Option]

Integrated Peripherals
Legacy USB Storage Detect___________________[Enabled]
 

redduc900

Inactive Moderator
Joined
Dec 17, 2000
Location
Portland, OR
If the High Speed DRAM DLL Settings option isn't automatically setting the sub-timings to 3-3-6-45-3, then either set all of the sub-timings to AUTO, or at least change Refresh to ACT Delay from 45 to 54. If after saving and exiting the BIOS the PC POSTs, then run Memtest86+ to verify RAM stability at those timings and voltage. If Memtest passes, then start upping the FSB, but change the System Memory Multiplier from 4.00 to 3.33 (still on the 'A' MCH strap). So for example at a FSB of 220MHz using the 3.33 multiplier, the effective DRAM frequency would be 732MHz (instead of 880MHz using the 4.00 multiplier). If you decide to use the 4.00 multiplier after raising the FSB, then change the primary timings from 5-4-4-18 to 5-5-5-18.
 
OP
Vipersfate

Vipersfate

Member
Joined
Jan 24, 2006
Location
Colorado
Yeah, the subtimings were at the same they are now before and after the changes I made to the SPD timings and the other options. Testing shortly, will be back soon.
 
OP
Vipersfate

Vipersfate

Member
Joined
Jan 24, 2006
Location
Colorado
SUCCESS!

Running at 220FSB, 5-4-4-18 timings, +0.3v on RAM.

275ghz.png

EDIT: Well, after a reboot, those clocks failed. I just don't quite understand why this thing just doesn't want to OC at all.
 
Last edited:

redduc900

Inactive Moderator
Joined
Dec 17, 2000
Location
Portland, OR
There's something that isn't set correctly... while at 220MHz, did you change the System Memory Multiplier from 4.0 to 3.33? Also try changing the timings from 5-4-4-18 to 5-5-5-15 (or a tRAS of 18). Gigabyte BIOS's are really particular when it comes to BIOS settings, so if just one setting isn't set correctly you'll get a no-POST on reboot.
 
OP
Vipersfate

Vipersfate

Member
Joined
Jan 24, 2006
Location
Colorado
I did change the SMM to 3.33, gonna go try the memory timings now.

EDIT: I just checked through the settings, changed it each way, and each time either it's a no post, or a no post after reboot.
 
Last edited: