• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

GlobalWin WBK38 Noise Reduction ?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

GRiMMi

Registered
I just bought a GlobalWin WBK38, and it sounds like a freaking F16. It's driving me mad! Good cooling tho :). I was wondering if anyone had any tips on reducing the noise level ? I have a few degrees to spare if it's possible to decrease the speed of it. Any ideas ?

some list members have tried replacing the screws that mount the fan to the sink w/ dabs of silacone caulk....but this method did not seem to lend a great deal to the noise level.

Depending on what type of heatsink you have, you could try reversing the fan so that it is sucking air from the sink instead of blowing onto it. I've heard that this is the most significant way to reduce Delta 38 ear-aches. Good luck.

-jrm

Thanks I'll try reversing the fan. Will it reduce the noise by a lot ?

GRiMMi (Jun 11, 2001 10:38 a.m.):
Thanks I'll try reversing the fan. Will it reduce the noise by a lot ?

Well, the best way to find out would be to run it for a few min. w/ the regular setup...get a general idea of the noise level. Then switch the fan and see where your at.

Radio shack sells noise meters but that's probably overkill. Your heatsink is alumnium right? I wouldn't advise switching the fan direction if your using a copper heat sink. Good luck, be careful and be sure to let us know how you make our.

The best way is to plug it in to your mb i have a p3v4x and when i do that the fan only spins at 4800 compared to the 6000 when pluged in to the psu try it works and is a hell of alot more quit i have had it there for2months and no blowin headers like everyone says will happen