• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Overclocking MSI 7950 TF3... (xpost from Benchmarking Activity)

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

totalanonymity

Registered
I have a post over on Reddit, too, but it seems no one's on currently and was hoping maybe you guys would be alive here. I just realized there was a specific forum for AMD GPUs and thought it'd be better to it here. "xpost" no longer active; has since been deleted.

This is my first time overclocking anything, so!
Just read from my purchase on Newegg that the core clock is 880 MHz. When I opened Afterburner, I'm pretty sure it was at 850 to start.

i5-3570K @ stock

MSI 7950 TF3 @ stock

• 3DMark11 Score: P7923 (Composition: Graphics: 8276, Physics: 7214, Combined: 6763)

Tried overclocking 7950 using Afterburner

+20% power, 1000/1575

• Doing this, tried to run 3DMark 11. It loads up, then I go back to desktop with a blown up screen (think, using magnifier on the screen), but it is still running in task manager and CPU/GPU are being used. I can't click on any windows or anything, as if I'm still in the program, just not seeing their little visual demo they use. Should I just let it run anyway?

950/1500

• Same results as above

+0% and 850/1250

• Runs perfectly and normally

+20% and 900/1350

• Success! New 3DMark11 Score: P8782 (Composition; Graphics: 9751, Physics: 6938, Combined: 6522)
  • Max temperature: 53-54 C (varies between the two depending on temperature monitoring program used)

Should I be worried about the lowered physics (and thus combined) score(s)?

+20% and 950/1400

• Same problem as above

Ran Furmark @ 900/1350

• Score: 3600

+20% and 900/1350

• Turns out it isn't stable
  • Mouse disappearing on screen
  • Lockup when loading up GPU-Z