• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

PROJECT LOG Retreat Room overhaul

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

jameseboy

Introduction

It has been a long time since I made any posts on this site. I used to be an active member when I was back in university studying Software Engineering. Well, I graduated, Got a job, Moved out, Got married and as always, life has been in the way.

So in February this year, my wife and I finally managed to buy our first house together. Now, I have always had a home "Office". Aka the dumping ground for all crap in the house that we had no real place for. However I have now decided it is time to get everything set up as I want.

The Room

The room will have a few uses, but will mainly be used by my wife and I for gaming and as an office when I decide to work from home.

So, Here is the room in its state at the beginning of this.

VxF96kW.jpg

Rsl0MuZ.jpg

As I said. Dumping ground for all the crap that I had been using for various things / getting the house redecorated.

One of my biggest complaints with the room that made me hesitant to use it was the amount of glare from the white wall behind the monitors. So first of was to address this issue.

YauWzLC.jpg

Followed by a tidy up of the room & Setups.

CN2ib4E.jpg
GSC0AwN.jpg
Hy5qxHV.jpg

Z9eZIaU.jpg

The Hardware

The desktops we are using are both fairly modest, but do the job for what we need at the moment.

My Personal Rig Spec:

CPU: Intel I7-4820k @4.5ghz,
Cooler: Corsair H80i
Motherboard: Asus Rampage IV Formula
Graphics Card: Gigabyte GTX970
Memory: 32Gb Corsair Vengeance 2333mhz DDR3
HDD / SSD: As Below
Case: Bitfenix Shinobi Xl

I have just removed all the mechanical drives from my desktop, and added a few extra SSD's.
At the moment I have:

Crucial M4 120Gb Boot Drive

2 x 240Gb Spanned Ssd's for Games