• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Which language is used the most in today's market?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Tacoman667

I have just started college after 8 years of being out of high school. I am following my dream of being a computer programmer. However, with all the great languages to learn out there, what are the most popular? I get 2 languages as my specialization included into my AAS degree, and I was thinking of VB and VC++. Are there any others I should concern myself with in the comming semesters? Like I said, I'm in my first semester of my degree so far so I still have about 1-2 semesters before I start the actual language classes. TIA.

Well if you are looking for "great languages" you should leave VB out of it

I would Suggest C, followed with C++ which is really just learning a Language and a half, not 2 Complete Languages,

After Learning C you can pick up PHP in a heart beat since they are similar.

You might try your abilities with Java, or C#, But really all you need is C and C++

Thing is, only VC++ is offered at the college unless I go to a University. Right now I'm looking just for a AAS degree, but may transfer later on. It's complicated. Other languages offered are COBOL and Assembly I believe. Do you think it would be difficult for me to learn 2 languages at the same time?

Learning two languages shouldn't be too difficult. For the most part, computer languages use the same basic concepts. Once you understand those, it's a matter of syntax. Certain languages have certain abilities built in, but they can be duplicated in other languages (you just have to write the code yourself).

If you know what you want to do with programming, it might be easier to determine what languages you want to take.