G.Skill Trident Z5 RGB 48GB DDR5-7600 Memory Kit Review


Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Today, we present the latest white version of the G.Skill Trident Z5 RGB memory series. With a long list of G.Skill products, it’s sometimes hard to notice the new models, so we try to highlight what’s the most interesting. The tested Trident Z5 kit is not only white but is also non-binary, equipped with 24GB modules, and is rated at 7600MT/s. Non-binary memory has been with us for some months already, but we had no chance to test any higher-frequency memory kit yet. Many users wonder if it’s any better, and we hope the review answers this and many other questions.

The tested memory kit is designed for the latest Intel chipsets and supports XMP, so our tests will be performed on the ASUS Maximus Z790 APEX motherboard, which shouldn’t limit the hidden potential of the G.Skill Trident Z5 RGB memory kit. Let’s begin with specifications and features so we know more details about the tested memory kit.

Specifications and Features

 

Trident Z5 RGB series DDR5 memory is designed for ultra-high performance on DDR5 platforms. Featuring a sleek and streamlined aluminum heatspreader design in matte white, the Trident Z5 RGB series DDR5 DRAM memory is the ideal choice to build a high-performance system.

 

G.Skill Trident Z5 RGB – source: G.Skill

Key Features

  • Blazing Fast DDR5 Performance
    Ushering in a new era of memory performance with ultra-fast data transfer speeds, the Trident Z5 RGB is engineered to high performance and quality standards. Each Trident Z5 RGB memory module is created from hand-screened DDR5 DRAM ICs to achieve high memory performance on DDR5 platforms.
  • Extreme Memory Performance with Intel Platform
    G.SKILL is dedicated to develop performance overclocked memory kits. Developed and optimized on the Intel platform, Trident Z5 RGB taps into the speed potential of DDR5 to bring a whole new level of performance to worldwide overclockers and PC enthusiasts.
  • Premium Dual-Texture Heatspreader Design
    The Trident Z5 family incorporates hypercar design elements into the iconic Trident heatspreader, creating a sleek and futuristic look. Featuring a black brushed aluminum strip inset into a matte white body, and topped with a translucent RGB light bar optimized for smooth lighting, the Trident Z5 RGB is ideal for a wide variety of PC build themes.
  • Streamlined RGB Light Bar
    Designed with a streamlined light bar, the Trident Z5 RGB looks sleeker than ever. Featuring customizable RGB lighting through the G.SKILL lighting control software or supported third-party motherboard software, personalizing the colors and lighting effects of the Trident Z5 RGB is a breeze.
  • Engineered for Exceptional DDR5 Experience
    Each and every Trident Z5 RGB memory kit is tested under G.SKILL’s rigorous validation process to ensure outstanding quality.
  • Sync Up with System Lighting
    Want to sync up your system lighting? You can use Asus Aura, Gigabyte RGB Fusion, MSI Mystic Light, or ASRock Polychrome Sync software to personalize the colors and effects of your Trident Z5 RGB memory and compatible motherboards!

G.Skill Trident Z5 and Trident Z5 RGB Extreme Performance DDR5 Memory – YouTube Trailer

Specifications

The tested memory kit contains two memory modules, 24GB each, so 48GB in total. Some users may think that 48GB is not required, but more often, we are getting close to the 32GB limit once we play the latest games and have a lot of other things running in the background. On my gaming computer, I’m reaching up to 35GB RAM. While 64GB won’t be used for a long time, the 48GB seems a perfect choice. Current memory kits that use 24GB modules overclock as high as those with 16GB modules. Their price is not much higher, and RAM prices are still going down. All motherboards with the latest chipsets should support non-binary memory, as BIOS updates were released a few months ago.

The Trident Z5 RGB DDR5-7600 memory kit uses the new Hynix M-die IC, the only IC used in higher frequency 24GB and 48GB memory modules. Quite surprising is a short list of officially compatible motherboards. G.Skill included only the top overclocking series from each leading brand, skipping ASRock. ASRock motherboards in the last series have worse RAM support, and there is no high overclocking model like OC Formula or AQUA. MSI is not much better, but it covered it with some single models supporting high RAM speed, like even the inexpensive MPG Z790I Edge.

Even though it’s not officially confirmed, we can expect that many AMD B650E or X670E motherboards will support memory kits up to 8000MT/s. The tested Trident Z5 RGB 7600MT/s kit works at XMP settings on ASUS Crosshair X670E GENE and ASRock B650E PG-ITX. On both motherboards, it could also pass stability tests at 8000MT/s CL38. There is a performance matter with asynchronous IF and IMC ratios, but we can try it if we want.

G.Skill Trident Z5 RGB 48GB DDR5-7600 Specifications
Memory TypeDDR5
Capacity48GB (24GBx2)
Multi-Channel KitDual Channel Kit
Tested Speed (XMP/EXPO)XMP: 7600 MT/tested
Tested Latency (XMP/EXPO)Profile 1: 7600MT/s CL38-48-48-121 1.35V
Registered/UnbufferedUnbuffered
Error CheckingNon-ECC
SPD Speed (Default)5600MT/s CL46-46-46-90 1.10V
Fan IncludedNo
WarrantyLimited Lifetime
FeaturesIntel XMP 3.0 (Extreme Memory Profile) Ready

All the product specifications and features come from G.Skill, and you can also find them on the product website.

G.Skill uses low voltages for its non-binary memory series. The tested Trident Z5 memory kit has XMP programmed at 1.35V. Most DDR5-7200 or higher memory kits have 1.40-1.45V. What’s more, if we decide on a higher frequency memory kit, then 7800, 8000, and 8200MT/s kits also have 1.35V but some more relaxed timings. G.Skill offers many more memory kits than any other brands, so if we search for something specific, the best will be to check G.Skill’s website and browse online stores with a product number. The reviewed memory kit is marked as F5-7600J3848F24GX2-TZ5RW. It’s easy to figure out what the product number means – memory kit speed, series, and module color, as the W at the end tells us that heatsinks are white.

Trident Z5 RGB 48GB DDR5-7600 – XMP#1 @7600MT/s

Above is a screenshot from ASUS Mem TweakIt software, which shows a list of more essential timings when RAM works at the XMP#1 profile – the rated speed of 7600MT/s. As you can see, tests were made on the ASUS Maximus Z790 APEX motherboard with BIOS 9901. It’s not the latest version, but it overclocks RAM better than some newer ones and already has full support for non-binary memory.

Packaging and Product Photos

Packaging

The memory kit arrived in a retail package, which is well described. There are “windows” on the back to see the memory modules and their serial numbers. We won’t find much inside the package, as there are only memory modules, a G.Skill logo sticker, and a card that reminds us not to mix different memory kits as we may have compatibility and stability issues. On the other hand, we don’t need much for the installation, and memory installation manuals are always with motherboards. I assume anyone buying this type of memory already knows how to install it. The memory kit arrived in perfect condition, as you see in the attached photos.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

G.Skill Trident Z5 modules look the same as every previous one we reviewed. The only difference is their color, as they’re white. The white version was released a few weeks ago, so our memory kit is still something new and fresh, especially with the 24GB modules. White gaming computers are getting more popular, and we have been reviewing mainly white memory kits recently. I will only share that our following review will also cover a white memory kit.

The Trident Z5 RGB looks even better in white, and the RGB illumination reflects nicely on white surfaces, as you can see in our test rig photos. There is a black bar in the center, which isn’t a problem at all.
There is also one unusual thing which, at least for me, is an advantage. Labels with serial and product numbers are on different sides of each heatsink. In short, if we install them on a two-slot motherboard, then both labels can be hidden, and we won’t see them, no matter from which side we look at the RAM. It may not be essential, but it makes a difference for some users, especially for PC modders who want everything clean.

As was expected, under the heatsinks are already well-known Hynix memory chips. We also find Richtek PMIC. This combo is the best for overclocking and has the widest motherboard compatibility. Even though not every motherboard will support 7600MT/s memory, most motherboards work with Richtek PMIC and unlock higher voltages. This way, we can still set tighter timings and relatively high frequencies on various popular motherboards.

Let’s move to performance tests.

 

Test Results

Test Setup
ProcessorIntel i7-13700K (Retail)
MotherboardASUS Maximus Z790 APEX
Graphics CardPowerColor RX6800XT Red Devil 16GB
OS StorageSilicon Power XS70 1TB M.2 PCIe 4.0 SSD
Power SupplyCorsair HX1200, 1200W 80+ Platinum
Used Memory KitsADATA XPG Lancer RGB 32GB DDR5-6000 CL40-40-40 1.35V
ADATA XPG Caster RGB 32GB DDR5-6400 CL40-40-40 1.40V
Corsair Vengeance RGB 32GB DDR5-6600 CL32-39-39 1.40V
Corsair Vengeance 32GB DDR5-7000 CL34-42-42 1.45V
G.Skill Trident Z5 RGB 32GB DDR5-6000 CL30-40-40 1.35V
G.Skill Trident Z5 RGB 32GB DDR5-6800 CL34-42-42 1.45V
Patriot Viper Xtreme 5 32GB DDR5-8000 CL38-48-48 1.45V
Operating SystemWindows 11 Pro x64 with the latest updates

 

Once the new Intel processors are released, we will try to update the comparison list. AMD motherboards don’t officially support higher frequency memory kits, so we can’t switch to AMD chipsets, even though they feel more fun in recent months. Additional results on AMD motherboards may appear on our forums.

 

Stability at Rated Speed

The XMP profile was tested in the AIDA64 System Stability Test and passed without problems.

G.Skill Trident Z5 RGB 48GB DDR5-7600 – XMP#1 @7600MT/s – AIDA64 Stability Test

The memory kit passed more extended stability tests at XMP settings on the ASUS Z790 APEX motherboard. There were no problems during various tests, while the main difference is further overclocking, for which I highly recommend the ASUS Maximus Z790 Apex or other top series motherboards.
An additional test was performed on the ASUS Crosshair X670E GENE with a Ryzen 9 7950X processor, and the memory kit passed it without problems at XMP settings.

Before we start with the comparison tests, here are a couple of test rig photos that present the test environment in which the Trident Z5 RGB 48GB DDR5-7600 memory was tested. There were no other fans, and the memory kit was fully stable during all tests.

As usual, we had no problems with the RGB illumination and setting of various modes. G.Skill memory is compatible with all the leading motherboard brands and their RGB technologies.

Comparison Tests

Tests were performed on popular synthetic benchmarks and benchmarks included in popular games. The list consists of tests that react well to memory performance. Older popular benchmarks and tests based on pure CPU performance were skipped as we wouldn’t see any difference.

For readers’ convenience, I added the overclocking result for comparison so you can see if it’s worth the overclocking.

Benchmarks list includes:

  • AIDA64 Cache & Memory Benchmark
  • PCMark 10 – default benchmark
  • 3DMark: Time Spy, Time Spy Extreme
  • Superposition Benchmark – 8K Optimized
  • Final Fantasy XV Benchmark – 4K High Details
  • Shadow of the Tomb Raider – 1080p, high details, default benchmark
  • Far Cry 6 – 1440p, high details, default benchmark
  • Assassin’s Creed Valhalla – 1440p, high details, default benchmark 

 

AIDA64 Cache & Memory Benchmark

G.Skill Trident Z5 RGB 48GB DDR5-7600 – AIDA64

AIDA64 Memory and Cache Benchmark is probably the most popular software to measure RAM bandwidth and latency. Results are scaling great with memory frequency, and as you can see, we could reach 111GB/s and about 62ns latency at the XMP profile. Overclocking pushed it up to 126GB/s and around 53ns latency.
The average bandwidth and latency results are slightly worse than 2x16GB kits. It’s related to more relaxed timings, which is normal on higher-capacity memory modules. Results out-of-the-box are still outstanding.

PCMark10

G.Skill Trident Z5 RGB 48GB DDR5-7600 – PCMark 10

PCMark 10 is not reacting well to DDR5 memory as even lower frequency kits are very fast. We can still see that the higher frequency RAM provides better results, but the most significant difference can be seen in the Applications benchmark and Microsoft Excel test.

 

3DMark – Time Spy

G.Skill Trident Z5 RGB 48GB DDR5-7600 – 3DMark Time Spy

3DMark series benchmarks are already showing better results, with a 1000-mark difference between the slowest and the fastest RAM kit. The XMP setting is only slightly slower than the 8000 and 8400MT/s settings, which suggests that, in most cases, DDR5-7600 will be the sweet spot for daily settings.

 

3DMark – Time Spy Extreme

G.Skill Trident Z5 RGB 48GB DDR5-7600 – 3DMark Time Spy Extreme

A similar performance scaling is visible in the Time Spy Extreme benchmark. The difference between the XMP profile at DDR5-7600 and anything higher is insignificant.

 

Unigine Superposition

G.Skill Trident Z5 RGB 48GB DDR5-7600 – Unigine Superposition

Superposition benchmark clearly doesn’t like KLEVV memory as even though it has a higher clock, G.Skill Trident Z5 at 7600MT/s is a couple of points better, not to mention when we overclock it.

 

Final Fantasy XV Benchmark

G.Skill Trident Z5 RGB 48GB DDR5-7600 – Final Fantasy XV Benchmark

Final Fantasy XV benchmark reacts similarly, with only slightly better results after further overclocking.

 

Shadow Of The Tomb Raider

G.Skill Trident Z5 RGB 48GB DDR5-7600 – Shadow Of The Tomb Raider

In popular games, especially at lower display resolution, the higher the memory clock, the better. G.Skill memory performs as well as expected and is only 2FPS shy of the DDR5-8000 result.

 

Far Cry 6

G.Skill Trident Z5 RGB 48GB DDR5-7600 – Far Cry 6

In more demanding games or games with higher display resolution, the performance gain from fast RAM is not so visible but still notable. In our tests, G.Skill Trident Z5 could achieve a similar maximum FPS whether memory was overclocked or ran at the XMP profile.

 

Assassin’s Creed Valhalla

G.Skill Trident Z5 RGB 48GB DDR5-7600 – Assassin’s Creed Valhalla

Assassin’s Creed Valhalla presents not much different story than we could see in our previous reviews. The higher RAM speed helps, but the main difference is between 6000MT/s and anything above 7000MT/s. Once we reach at least 7200MT/s, then the performance won’t be much better. Again, G.Skill at 7600MT/s seems perfect for demanding games, and pushing it higher won’t bring us much more. At this point, a higher capacity may give us more than the memory frequency, especially when we are using many applications or web browser tabs in the background.

Those users who always want more than what a factory gives can try their luck in overclocking. Let’s take a look at our results.

Overclocking

Temperatures and Voltages

Non-binary G.Skill Trident Z5 memory kits are designed to run at relatively low voltages. I won’t hide: I was a bit surprised when I saw that the tested memory kit has 1.35V in the XMP profile, as most competitive memory kits have 1.40-1.45V for every DDR5-7000 or higher memory kit.

If we won’t overclock the memory kit and use the XMP profiles, we can count on around 53°C during gaming or more demanding but still mixed load work.

G.Skill Trident Z5 RGB 48GB DDR5-7600 – Temperatures

Once we decide on overclocking, then we will require higher voltages. The optimal seems to be 1.45V at 8000MT/s and 1.50V at 8400MT/s, keeping not much different primary timings.

I’m not recommending anything above 1.45V for daily overclocking, including games, as the performance gain at tighter timings or higher frequency won’t be apparent. Too high temperatures or voltages may cause random errors, even though memory may pass popular stability tests.

 

DDR5-8400 CL38-48-48-98 1.50V

On our test platform, we could reach the DDR5-8400 at still tight primary timings of CL38-48-48-98. The required voltage for the DDR5-8400 was 1.50V, which for the tested memory kit, isn’t a problem for daily work without additional airflow. The screenshot with the mentioned settings is below. It does not include additional fine-tuning, so if we spend more time, we can easily pass 130GB/s bandwidth and go below 50ns latency.

G.Skill Trident Z5 RGB 48GB DDR5-7600@8400 CL38

 

Results are not much different from what we could see on 16GB memory modules with Hynix A-die IC. The main difference make sub-timings as we couldn’t tighten them as much as on lower capacity memory. As a result, memory bandwidth and latency are slightly worse. It shouldn’t affect games, but it may matter if we participate in competitive benchmarking.

If you are into overclocking, the G.Skill memory will give you all the best. There is a reason why G.Skill is the most popular gaming or overclocking memory brand. The Trident Z5 RGB DDR5-7600 is another great G.Skill memory that is fast at XMP settings but offers a high overclocking potential. Hopefully, we will see more robust memory controllers and motherboards soon, as this memory could easily overclock even higher.

If you are into overclocking, feel free to share your results on our forums.

 

Conclusion

G.Skill one more time has proven why it’s the top users’ choice. The 7600MT/s version of the Trident Z5 RGB is not the fastest memory kit on the market, but it gives us an outstanding balance between what we can really use and what we need for daily challenges. The higher capacity and high frequency are perfect for modern demanding games and a highly multi-threaded environment, which is often used at home. A high overclocking potential is just a cherry on top of one more exceptional memory kit, now also available with white heatsinks.

There were no problems with the stability of the tested memory kit. The only problem for most users is the need for an expensive motherboard, as many cheap models won’t work at 7600MT/s. The list is even shorter if we want to be sure, as the official QVL is limited to four motherboards. My tests extended the list by the next two models, and I’m sure the list is much longer, just not officially confirmed.

Not many competitive memory kits are available at such a high frequency and also in the 48GB option. Even though Trident Z5 RGB DDR5-7600 isn’t the cheapest, it’s still the most reasonable option in these specifications. Newegg sells the white 48GB DDR5-7600 kit for $249.99, so again, it’s not cheap, but less than a year ago, it was a basic 32GB DDR5-6000 kit at this price. Suddenly, it doesn’t feel so bad.

One more Approved Stamp goes to G.Skill, as you can’t go wrong with the Trident Z5 48GB DDR5-7600 memory kit!

Click here to learn what this means

Click the stamp for an explanation of what this means.

 

Bartosz Waluk – Woomack

 

 

Related Articles

 

Loading new replies...

dejo

1

4,152 messages 50 likes

Nice read as always. Thanks for taking the time

Reply 2 Likes