XPG LANCER RGB DDR5 6000 Review


Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Today we’re reviewing ADATA’s current flagship DDR5 memory. Released in December to coincide with Intel’s Z690 platform, the XPG LANCER RGB is one of the faster DDR5 kits available. Coming in at a whopping 6000 MT/s and with an elegant RGB glow, the LANCER RGB promises to deliver everything you need for a modern gaming or performance computer.

DELTA RGB Specifications

ADATA launched the XPG LANCER RGB product line with two different SKUs. For now, it’s just a small introductory line for the DDR5 launch. As time goes on and the technology matures, we expect ADATA to increase the number of SKUs for the XPG LANCER. If you’re on a budget and looking for an introduction to DDR5, they offer the 5200 CL38 32 GB kit priced at $385.99. However, if it’s performance computing and overclocking you’re after, then the 32 GB 6000 CL40 kit is the one for you. Priced at $529.99, it’s the fastest kit that ADATA has ever released, and indeed it’s one of the fastest retail kits available.

Below is the marketing campaign for this product. We credit atata.com for the following content:

DDR5 Speed
DDR5 Speed
A New Speed ​​Benchmark in Gaming Memory
The XPG LANCER ushers in the DDR5 era for gaming memory. Reaching frequencies of up to 6000 MT/s will give you a significant performance boost for gaming and overclocking.

RGB Lighting
RGB Lighting
RGB Your Way
Set the RGB lighting the way you want it. Choose from different effects (static, breathing, and comet) or sync the lights with your favorite jams via Music Mode. This can be done through RGB control software from all major motherboard brands.

Power Management
Power Management
Enhanced Power Management
The XPG LANCER DDR5 features a built-in Power Management IC (PMIC) that enhances power supply stability. Its lower operating voltage also makes LANCER more power-efficient than DDR4.

ECC
ECC
Stability and Reliability
With On-die error-correcting code (ECC), this module can correct errors in real-time to provide increased stability and reliability.

Build Materials
Build Materials
Made with High-Quality Materials
High-quality ICs and PCBs ensure uncompromised performance and reliable overclocking, ideal for discerning gamers and overclockers.

XMP Profile
XMP Profile
Overclocking Made Easy
With support for Intel XMP 3.0, get overclocking easily without the need to hassle with BIOS settings. There is no need to adjust and fine-tune overclocking parameters repeatedly.

 

In the table below are specific details of our test kit:

LANCER RGB DDR5
Part NumberAX5U6000C4016G-DCLARBK
ColorBlack
Capacity32 GB (2 x 16 GB)
TypeU-DIMM
LightingRGB lighting with 120° Ultra-Wide Viewing
Voltage1.35 V
Rated FrequencyDDR5 6000 MT/s (PC5 48000)
ChipsetIntel XMP 3.0
Multi-channel KitQuad Channel Kit
Rated TimingsCL40-40-40
Dimensions (L x W x H)133.35 x 40 x 8 mm
PricingNewegg $457.99     Amazon $529.99
WarrantyLimited Limited Lifetime
Registered / Error CheckingUnbuffered / On Die ECC
LinksDatasheet

Right about now, we usually like to show you the Thaiphoon Burner SPD output. We use that software for preliminary identification of the ICs under the hood. Unfortunately, the software is not ready for DDR5 at this time. However, don’t despair; CPU-Z now accurately reads the IC branding. Although it doesn’t display nearly as much information as Thaiphoon Burner, it gives us a good indicator of the IC. As you can see, our test kit has SK Hynix ICs.

CPUz SPD Tab
CPUz SPD Tab

Product Tour

In November, we covered the non-RGB version of this memory, the XPG LANCER DDR5 5200 MHz Review. We didn’t have the retail packaging for that product, but we can imagine it would be similar to what we see here. Although this is ADATA’s flagship DDR5 memory product, it comes in a straightforward package. XPG products tend to ship in no-nonsense packaging like we’ve seen today. Budget packaging is either a cost-saving method or a determinant to the unboxing experience, depending on how you look at it. Even though most users don’t care about the packaging, we believe that high-tier products should come with packaging of the same caliber.

Inside the package, we find a 2-piece plastic clamshell to transfer the memory safely. There’s nothing else inside the box for this kit.

LANCER RGB Package
LANCER RGB Package

Meet the LANCER RGB

Opening up the packaging, we get an up-close and personal with the XPG Lancer memory. The heat sink is thick and feels quite substantial when holding it compared to many others who use thin, stamped aluminum heat spreaders, such as the recently reviewed T-FORCE DELTA RGB. The geometric styling has been an XPG trademark for a few years now, and this new breed of DDR5 uses the same theme.

LANCER RGB Design
LANCER RGB Design

The light diffuser does not dominate the entire topside of the module. The heat sink extends up to the very top in spots, which means the light diffuser occupies about 75% of the top-down view of real estate.

The deep grooves cut into the heat sink, combined with an angular RGB light diffuser, give it a geometric look.

RGB Illumination

We’ve been a big fan of ADATA’s recent RGB releases from the lighting standpoint. There are no observable hot spots or poor viewing angles. They tend to produce RGB memory with a softer lighting effect than we’ve seen from their competition like Team Group, Corsair, and G.SKill.

XPG image
XXPG image

ADATA isn’t trying to outshine the competition by having the most prominent and brightest RGB lights; instead, they built the LANCER RGB to be more refined.

Testing and Overclocking

If and when the XMP profile proves to be stable, we will evaluate the memory from an overclocking perspective. As we pointed out in the specifications, the rated voltage of this kit is 1.35 V; however, we plan to conduct overclocking tests. Therefore, we’ll show you what the memory can do with a slight voltage increase and the stock voltage.

Below is the test system and resulting memory speeds used to evaluate the memory and run the various benchmarks.

Test Setup
CPUIntel Core i9-12900KF – Core i9 12th Gen Alder Lake 16-Core
CoolerCustom water loop
MotherboardASRock Z690 AQUA OC LGA 1700 DDR5
Graphics CardEVGA GeForce RTX 3090 K|NGP|N Gaming Graphics Card
Solid State DriveT-Force CARDEA ZERO Z330 1 TB
Power Supplybe quiet! Dark Power Pro 12 1500 W PSU
Operating SystemWindows 11 x64
Memory Speeds Compared
XMP – 6000 MHz CL40-40-40 + XMP Sub Timings @ 1.35/1.35 V
Overclock – 6000 MHz CL30-38-38 + Tight Sub Timings @ 1.35/1.35 V
Overclock – 6400 MHz CL30-37-37 + Tight Sub [email protected] 1.45/1.45 V

 

XMP – 6000 MHz CL40-40-40 + XMP Sub Timings @ 1.35/1.35 V

We’re happy to report that the XMP profile works flawlessly. With absolutely no bios knobs tweaked, we applied the XMP profile and conducted all of our tests. There were no stability issues, and the memory XMP profile never failed.

How did the memory perform? Check out the comparison results below to see how it stacked up against overclocked profiles and other DDR5 memory kits.

AIDA64 XMP Results
AIDA64 XMP Results
XMP Timing Profile
XMP Timing Profile

 

Overclock – 6000 MHz CL30-38-38 + Tight Sub Timings @ 1.35/1.35 V

What type of overclocking can we achieve with the XMP voltage? This overclocking attempt aims to produce the best profile we can without providing the DIMMs with any additional voltage. As you can see below, we kept the frequency the same as XMP, but we dramatically enhanced the timings.

6000 MHz CL30-38-38 AIDA64 Results
6000 MHz CL30-38-38 AIDA64 Results
6000 MHz CL30-38-38 Timing Profile
6000 MHz CL30-38-38 Timing Profile

 

Overclock – 6400 MHz CL30-37-37 + Tight Sub [email protected] 1.45/1.45 V

By adding a scant 10 mV, we increased the frequency by 400 MHz. Furthermore, we could run the same (or better) tight timings we developed in the above overclocking profile. It may not look like much at face value, but the overclocking potential is incredible given the limited voltage we used.

We were close to achieving stability at 6600 Mhz; however, it required 1.50 / 1.50 V, so we decided to abandon it in favor of lower voltage.

6400 MHz CL30-37-37 AIDA64 Results
6400 MHz CL30-37-37 AIDA64 Results
6400 MHz CL30-37-37 Timing Profile
6400 MHz CL30-37-37 Timing Profile

Extreme Overclocking

Until now, we’ve set artificial overclocking limits regarding voltage and memory stability. What happens when we remove the boundaries and push the memory as far as it will go? Here we are testing the maximum possible frequency that we can achieve. To do this, we’ve set the memory timings to be extremely loose, providing more headroom for overclocking. The CPU is reduced from 16c/24t down to 2c/2t, alleviating IMC workload stress. Furthermore, only one DRAM module is populated, making it a one DIMM per channel configuration.

With 1.60/1.60 V, we achieved a validation frequency of 3901 MHz (7802 MT/s). We feel this is an impressive result. The credit goes to the excellent XPG memory, a strong CPU IMC, and a top motherboard designed for memory overclocking.

Maximum Frequency Overclock
Maximum Frequency Overclock

Benchmark Results

AIDA64

AIDA64 Overclocking Comparison
AIDA64 Overclocking Comparison

The results here are pretty typical. Looking at the copy result, overclocking yielded an astonishing 20% increase beyond the XMP profile. Although that’s an impressive result, it doesn’t always translate to increased performance for average memory tasks such as web browsing.

Geekbench 4 Multi-Core

Geekbench 4 Overclocking Comparison
Geekbench 4 Overclocking Comparison

Our overclocking efforts only gained us a 4% increase over the XMP profile. The total score implements many different types of tests and averages them together to give you an overall picture of the performance. We feel confident that this test represents the average gain you expect from everyday computer tasks.

Game Tests

Game Overclocking Comparison
Game Overclocking Comparison

Lastly, we’d like to examine the performance effects of our memory profiles using game benchmarks. We used the same settings found in the GPU Testing Procedure article for consistency.

 

Memory Comparison – XMP

AIDA64

AIDA64 XMP Comparison Results
AIDA64 XMP Comparison Results

Geekbench 4 Multi-Core

Geekbench 4 XMP Comparison Results
Geekbench 4 XMP Comparison Results

Game Tests

Game XMP Comparison Results
Game XMP Comparison Results

Speedy XMP profiles are alive and well for gamers. We’ve seen memory XMP comparisons provide almost no difference in gaming performance in the past. Although the most significant difference we’ve seen here today is only 4%, it’s enough to make a difference for gamers.

XPG LANCER RGB Marketing
XPG LANCER RGB Marketing

Conclusion

The physical characteristics of the XPG LANCER RGB are on point. Overall, the overall style is understated and elegant with a flat-black, brushed aluminum heat sink. We appreciated their approach to RGB lighting and the overall effect. The resulting light show is soft but pronounced. ADATA has struck the perfect balance between bright lighting and a soft, diffused glow.

As much as we loved the exterior, here at overclockers.com, we wouldn’t be happy without respectable overclocking capabilities too. The LANCER RGB did not disappoint in the performance and overclocking department. We could dramatically overclock the timings and the respective memory performance with absolutely no voltage increases. When it came time to add some voltage, we increased the frequency by 400 Mhz with just 10 mV of additional voltage beyond the XMP rating. We’re pleased with the overclocking result, and it shows that users can increase performance by about 5% while keeping the voltage within safe limitations.

In terms of the competition, there are kits available from Team Group, G.Skill, Gigabyte, and Kingston for speed ratings of 6000 MHz. Our XPG review kit can be found for sale on Newegg for $457.99. We can also find G.Skill’s RGB offering at 6000 MHz on Newegg for $459.99. With relatively the same price point, is there anything that separates the kits besides style? We’ve seen that G.Skill’s kits, at that frequency, are currently equipped with Samsung ICs. While they may have been the kings of DDR4, the world of DDR5 overclocking revolves around SK Hynix ICs, at the moment. There is no certainty that one particular kit will have Samsung or SK Hynix ICs; however, if you’re looking for the revered Hynix memory, then your chances are favorable with the XPG LANCER RGB. Therefore, it’s easy to suggest the XPG LANCER RGB over G.Skill’s offering simply because of the overclocking potential.

Loading new replies...

Overclockers.com

Member

3,028 messages 15 likes

Today we're reviewing ADATA's current flagship DDR5 memory. Released in December to coincide with Intel's Z690 platform, the XPG LANCER RGB is one of the faster DDR5 kits available. Coming in at a whopping 6000 MT/s and with an elegant RGB glow, the LANCER RGB promises to deliver everything you need for a modern gaming or performance computer.

Click here to read more!

Reply Like