• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Good coolers for under $50

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Trypt

Can someone recommend a good CPU cooler for x570 boards with a Ryzen 3rd gen cpu? I upgraded to a 3600x and I am not liking the cooler at all. I have a Cooler Master 212 and wanted to use that, and put the Ryzen cooler on the FX8150 I have on my old system but it won't fit. I don't even know if the Cooler Master would fit the x570 board.

I want a nice cooler that comes with one 120pwm fan, simple and effective. And it has to fit my board, lol.

Does it have to only have 1 x 120mm fan on it?
My 2600X is has TDP of 95W, just like your 3600X but I use this cooler from CM although its push/pull design.
I have my system in a big case though (see sig) everytime I look inside, I'm thinking there's a LOT of room in there... :)
But in my part of the world, especially in summer I'm glad I have excellent air flow over all components.

Last edited:
I prefer the CM Hyper 212X over all other budget coolers. It has the classic 212 heatsink with an upgraded, longer life, PWM fan. The fan is also considerably quieter than the fans that are on the EVO.

EDIT: There are mounts included for push/pull but all the reviews I've read show little to no improvement, so I've never installed a second fan.

The MSRP for the Scythe Fuma was $42.95 when I reviewed it in 2016. The Reeven Ouranos was $49.95 in 2015, probably more than that now, if it is still available. Both were excellent heatsinks. I reviewed the Ninja 4 in 2015. It hadn't been released yet but the MSRP was expected to be less than $50.

Whatever you get, be sure that the heatsink has at least 6 heatpipes. You need that many to carry away more heat than the stock cooler.