• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

The time has come…

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Val155

I just want to start out by saying that I have been visiting this site since 2003 and have taken a lot of awesome advice and suggestions from all of you over the years. Thank you so much!

I’m writing this post because the time has come for me to build a new gaming rig and take advantage of all of the newer technology. The forums helped me in 2008 with my last machine (specs are below). I use my rig mainly for MMO gaming and internet. I do not do any art/graphic based computing. I also do not do any overclocking, mainly because I have never tried or really have never needed to (I don’t think). I strictly do gaming and your typical internet/email tasks.

I’ll admit, I am in no way up to speed on the new tech as well as what criteria I need to look at that needs to coincide with other parts, etc., so I am hoping you can recommend parts as I plan to build from scratch with a new mid-size tower.
I will probably have questions as well. My budget is around $1k.

Current built PC since 2008:
- EVGA LGA 775 Nividia NForce 780i SLI ATX Intel Motherboard
- Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Kentsfield 2.46hz LGA 775 Processor
- EVGA Geforce 8800GT Akimbo 512MB 256bit GPDR3 PCI Express 2.o x 16 HDCP SLI ready video card
- Western Digital RE2 400GB 7200RPM Hard Drive
- Corsair Dominator 4GM (2x2GB) DDR SDRAM
- LITE-ON 20x DVDR SATA
- Raidmax Sagita ATX Mid-Tower Case
- Thermaltake Black Widow 850W ATX Powersupply

Any advice or direction would be GREATLY appreciated! Thank you all again for your time.

I don't see anything you could reuse from your old build. I'd throw it up on craigslist and see if you can get a little bit out of it.

Are you going to need a new monitor? What about an OS? Peripherals?