• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

E8400 overclock

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

overhigh

Registered
Hey its my first time Overclocking my rig and could use some advice. I was easily able to overclock it to 3.6ghz not changing many settings except the FSB to 400x9. Problem is after that point even a minor FSB bump like 405x9 will not boot windows.Any advice about which settings i should mess with next would be great.

Goal is to hit 3.8-4ghz running stable.

Windows 7 home premium 64-bit
GA-EP45-UD3P
Core 2 Duo E8400 E0
OCZ Vendetta 92mm (Going to swap for hyper 212+ soon)
8GB(4x2GB) G.SKILL DDR2 1066 (PC2 8500) 5-5-5-15 2.0V - 2.1V
Corsair 650w psu (CMPSU-650TX)
HD 4890

011_zps60ab3046.jpg
010_zps4ca2061c.jpg
009_zps34162155.jpg

Right off the bat... the NB / MCH strap is too tight at the current FSB of 405MHz. A System Memory Multiplier of 2.50 on the "A" strap is the equivalent of a 266=1066FSB. Change the latch from Auto to either 333B or 400D w/ the DRAM multiplier set to 2.40 on the "B" strap = DDR2-972, or 2.00 on the " D" strap = DDR2-810. And don't worry about the lower than rated effective DRAM frequencies for the time being, since you're still in the process of trying to find your max. overclock. Change Performance Enhance to Standard and PCI-E Freq. to 102MHz.

Last edited:
Thanks I will try your advice right now.

Windows seems to bootup with no problems now. I'm going to keep bumping up the FSB slowly untill i hit 3.8. ill keep updated.

For some reason when i went up from 3.8 to 4.0 my CPU fanspeed started spinning at max(and it was really annoying). Even when i went back down to 3.8 the fan speed stayed the same.I eventually went into the bios and set CPU Smart fan control to enabled which fixed the fan speed. Is that setting supposed to be on? Any idea what happened?