• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

HOWTO: Overclock C2Q (Quads) and C2D (Duals) - A Guide v1.1

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

mista ting

Member
Joined
Oct 2, 2004
Location
New York City
Right now my q6600 is at 378x9, 3.4ghz. My vcore is 1.35 load read by cpu-z. My load temps have not gone above 62c, the hottest core ranges from 59-62 while priming. I have a xigmatek s1283, I was wondering if anyone thinks a TRUE will bring the temps down at all. Also, how it the o/c for a 1.3vid q6600?

Oh yeah, I resat the heatsink tonight so hopefully i'll drop a few degrees in the next few days.

mines does almost the same 3.4GHz @ 1.36v + Xigmatek @ 60c load. i tried higher but it always came down to the Q6600 needing more Vcore and the temps would be 65c+ that's the limit for me.

i'm happy at 3.4 with air ^__^
 

HavsCritiria

Registered
Joined
Aug 30, 2008
Location
Lauderhill, Fl
I just finished reading this post and I must admit it was absolutely extraordinary! I did want to ask if some one could explain to me on what the numbers for ram timings mean, numbers such as 5-5-5-12, I didn't really understand how that works or what it signified, if someone could explain that to me I would be very grateful. also if anyone could explain what the ratios mean as well such as [1:1] or [5:4]

thanks,

fantastic post graysky!
 
Last edited:

Qlix

Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2006
Location
Tulsa, OK
I just finished reading this post and I must admit it was absolutely extraordinary! I did want to ask if some one could explain to me on what the numbers for ram timings mean, numbers such as 5-5-5-12, I didn't really understand how that works or what it signified, if someone could explain that to me I would be very grateful. also if anyone could explain what the ratios mean as well such as [1:1] or [5:4]

thanks,

fantastic post graysky!

I cant explain timings. BUt I can somewhat explain the ratio's:

The ratio is a ram divider, most ram kits are locked into a max frequency, you buy an 800mxz kit the highest that kit will do is approximately 400mhz (ddr2 obviously as Graysky said in his post). Some kits will do a little more but not very much more. What the divider does is adjust the ram frequency so that you can stay closer to the FSB for example:

youre running a 1:1 divider with a 400mhz FSB. this means your ram is also running at 400mhz. 400:400

now lets say youre running a 5:6 divider such as I am, my FSB is at 333mhz so im at 333mhz fsb:400mhz ram

in conclusion all the divider is doing is adjusting your ram frequency to keep it around max frequencies allowing you to raise or lower your FSB without sacrificing any ram speed or going over by an excessive amount.

I hope this clarified a bit. Im not the greatest at explaining this stuff :(
 
Last edited:

nev

Registered
Joined
Feb 26, 2009
Help needed....I try to do overclocking ( i read about overclocking ) but i can not find BIOS like mine. So if someone knows where to start?
Options are mostly enable/disable, except these which have also Auto option.I can do sam changes also in DRAM field and on
VCCM +2,7V and VDDQ +1,58V where i can put Auto/high/or Low.
And this is all options which i have in my BIOS. So if someone knows....

http://www.imagesforme.com/show.php/373655_ABCD0012.JPG
http://www.imagesforme.com/show.php/373654_Chipsetconfiguration.JPG
http://www.imagesforme.com/show.php/373653_MainMeniadvance.JPG
http://www.imagesforme.com/show.php/373659_ABCD0007.JPG
http://www.imagesforme.com/show.php/373658_ABCD0010.JPG
http://www.imagesforme.com/show.php/373657_ABCD0011.JPG
http://www.imagesforme.com/show.php/373661_ABCD0006.JPG
 

I.M.O.G.

Glorious Leader
Joined
Nov 12, 2002
Location
Rootstown, OH
Help needed....I try to do overclocking ( i read about overclocking ) but i can not find BIOS like mine. So if someone knows where to start?
Options are mostly enable/disable, except these which have also Auto option.I can do sam changes also in DRAM field and on
VCCM +2,7V and VDDQ +1,58V where i can put Auto/high/or Low.
And this is all options which i have in my BIOS. So if someone knows....

http://www.imagesforme.com/show.php/373655_ABCD0012.JPG
http://www.imagesforme.com/show.php/373654_Chipsetconfiguration.JPG
http://www.imagesforme.com/show.php/373653_MainMeniadvance.JPG
http://www.imagesforme.com/show.php/373659_ABCD0007.JPG
http://www.imagesforme.com/show.php/373658_ABCD0010.JPG
http://www.imagesforme.com/show.php/373657_ABCD0011.JPG
http://www.imagesforme.com/show.php/373661_ABCD0006.JPG

You should start your own thread about this in the Intel Forum. More people will see it if your question has its own dedicated topic.
 

nev

Registered
Joined
Feb 26, 2009
Help needed....I try to do overclocking ( i read about overclocking ) but i can not find BIOS like mine. So if someone knows where to start?
Options are mostly enable/disable, except these which have also Auto option.I can do sam changes also in DRAM field and on
VCCM +2,7V and VDDQ +1,58V where i can put Auto/high/or Low.
And this is all options which i have in my BIOS. So if someone knows....

http://www.imagesforme.com/show.php/373655_ABCD0012.JPG
http://www.imagesforme.com/show.php/373654_Chipsetconfiguration.JPG
http://www.imagesforme.com/show.php/373653_MainMeniadvance.JPG
http://www.imagesforme.com/show.php/373659_ABCD0007.JPG
http://www.imagesforme.com/show.php/373658_ABCD0010.JPG
http://www.imagesforme.com/show.php/373657_ABCD0011.JPG
http://www.imagesforme.com/show.php/373661_ABCD0006.JPG


Thank you for tip....I made new treat,with the same question(so this here probbably is not necessery anymore), i think that i put it where you say. If it is not please be so kind to move it, i see that you are moderator.
 

I.M.O.G.

Glorious Leader
Joined
Nov 12, 2002
Location
Rootstown, OH
Thank you for tip....I made new treat,with the same question(so this here probbably is not necessery anymore), i think that i put it where you say. If it is not please be so kind to move it, i see that you are moderator.

Perfect! It looks like you are getting good feedback there also. Glad you took my advice.
 

markp1989

Member
Joined
Jun 30, 2008
even thou my cpu is a dual core pentium , not a c2d , this guide has helped me alot with the basics, thanks

recently finished my first over clock. i dnt know if i would of managed to get as high as i did without this guide, thanks :D
 

Tacoslammer

New Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2009
Location
Tualatin, OR for now
graysky:

Great info on OCing. Thanks for posting it. I did find the Intel link for the missing Intel article you quoted from ("Intel® Core™2 Extreme Quad-Core Processor QX6700Δ and Intel® Core™2 Quad Processor Q6000 Δ Sequence Thermal and Mechanical Design Guidelines."). The article is now located here as a PDF file: http://developer.intel.ru/download/design/processor/designex/31559402.pdf

Just getting a Q6600 fro my Dell XPS-720 (upgraded XPS-700).

Check in at Rampant Speculation Forums. I am wtb there.
 

Gambler_BE

New Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2009
Great thread, I'm new to OC'ing cpu's so this cleared up a LOT of things :D
But there is one thing I don't fully understand. You say for ddr3 RAM your max fsb is ram speed / 4 ? And at the dividers part, you say (for ddr2 that is) that a ram speed that is dubbel the fsb is the best? So I guess for ddr3 RAM, your ram speed should be 4x your fsb for the best performance?
I'm planning to buy ddr3 1600 RAM, but if I want my fsb like at 350, I should underclock my RAM?
Is what I'm saying correct? :p
Like I said I'm new to the OC scene so... :D
 

georgelogy

Member
Joined
May 24, 2002
Location
CA
The basic idea is to run your memory, whatever type it is, at a frequency that is 1:1 to your CPU FSB. In short, this helps reduce the CPU (or memory) having to wait on the bus for the next piece of information. In many cases, by running your memory synchronously, but at a moderately lower FSB frequency, you can get better performance. Plus, at a lower speed you can generally tighten your memory timings to make it even better.

So if your desired FSB = 350 DDR
DDR2 would ideally be running at: 350 (memory clock rate, DDR) × 2 (for clock bus multiplier) = 700
DDR3 would ideally be running at: 350 (memory clock rate, DDR) × 4 (for clock bus multiplier) = 1400
 
Last edited:

computergeek

Member
Joined
Aug 23, 2009
Thanks for this i read it last night!
Helped me in alot of area's when it comes to overclocking big thumbs up!
 

Ploutarchos

Registered
Joined
Aug 3, 2009
The basic idea is to run your memory, whatever type it is, at a frequency that is 1:1 to your CPU FSB. In short, this helps reduce the CPU (or memory) having to wait on the bus for the next piece of information. In many cases, by running your memory synchronously, but at a moderately lower FSB frequency, you can get better performance. Plus, at a lower speed you can generally tighten your memory timings to make it even better.

So if your desired FSB = 350 DDR
DDR2 would ideally be running at: 350 (memory clock rate, DDR) × 2 (for clock bus multiplier) = 700
DDR3 would ideally be running at: 350 (memory clock rate, DDR) × 4 (for clock bus multiplier) = 1400


This is my biggest problem.... When I'm trying to setup 4.5Ghz my Q9770 memtest86 fail my memory....

This is my serious problem because i have past memtest86 and prime 100% with this spec::

Intel core 2 quad 9770 3.2Ghz @4.4Ghz (11*400) 1600Mhz ( 1.52500V)
Asus striker II nforce 790 ultra sli 1600Mhz
Ocz 2*1GB 1600Mhz 9-9-9-24 (2.20V)

volts ::

cpu:: 1.52500V ( water - 60C)
CPU PLL::: 1.80V
CPU VTT:: 1.50v
memory::: 2.20V(water)
NB v:::::: 1.92V(water 30C-35C)
SB v:::::: 1.75V(water 35C)
Load line calibration:: Enable

Other Settings::

CPU Internal Thermal Control:::: Disable
Limit CPUID MaxVal::::: Disable
Enhanced C1 (C1E):: Disable
Execute Disable bit::::::Enable
Virtualization Technology:::::: Enable
Enhanced intel SpeedStep(tm)::: Disable

Also i had disable all the protection temp from motherboard and i had
flash it at the last version of bios....

Whats going wrong???

If i set 1Mhz up, i have blue screen and fail on memtest86

The most stranger thing is that i have managed to set my memory something like this......

9-9-9-26 (T1) 1800Mhz 2.30V ( red line Volt)

and start-past on 4.7Ghz (450*10.5) but fail my CPU at SuperPi on 32MB
also at 1MB on SuperPI its stuck at 18 interations with 9.5 seconds... if i try to set other frequency i get fail on memtest and blue screen... death cpu???
or something going wrong with my ram??

I need help, i want at least to work at 4.6Ghz if it possible, if it's not i will be proud to run my cpu at 4.5Ghz....

At the and i forgot to say that i try to change +mV on my ram without results and i uses linked and unlinked mode with all the options that my motherboard gave me..... Guess what!!!???

Nothing change... If you have any other information about this motherboard - cpu and ram ( 2*1GB OCZ 1600 Mhz 7-7-7-21 current volt 1.90V)

Please let me know....

All my system works with water and i can't get 4.5GHZ WITH Extreme motherboard and extreme CPU

:(:(

Thank you
 
Last edited: