• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Why cant I get E8400 beyond 3,3ghz on P5B deluxe?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

urlsen

New Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2011
Location
Copenhagen
Hi overclockers

My setup is nearly 4 years old and tho ive been happy with the speed so far, win7 64 and time has caught up with me.

I have been trying to overclock my Intel E8400 3,0 chip on my P5B wi-fi deluxe.
Sandy bridge and bulldozer are just around the corner, so i want to squeeze a bit more life out of the setup before going new motherboard, ram and cpu.

But i cant seem to get the FSB beyond 375 = 3,3Ghz, as far as can see around people reach 4,5 on air :bang head
Idle temps are 35c
Load temps are 50-55c
So should be able to handle it!!

Specs are:
Enermax chakra (250mm side fan)
Core2duo E8400 (germinII 2x120mm pwm)
Asus P5b Wi-fi Deluxe (Bios V.1232)
4gb (2+1+1) Pc6400 ddr2 OCZ (1,8v)
8800 gts (320)

I got the scores also from Cpu-z:
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400
Windows 7 Ultimate Edition (Build 7600)
CPU Arch : 1 CPU - 2 Cores - 2 Threads
CPU PSN : Intel Core2 Duo CPU E8400 @ 3.00GHz
CPU EXT : MMX, SSE (1, 2, 3, 3S, 4.1), EM64T, VT-x
CPUID : 6.7.6 / Extended : 6.17
CPU Cache : L1 : 2 x 32 / 2 x 32 KB - L2 : 6144 KB
Core : Wolfdale (45 nm) / Stepping : C0
Freq : 3374.81 MHz (374.98 * 9)
MB Brand : Asus
MB Model : P5B-Deluxe
NB : Intel P965/G965 rev C1
SB : Intel 82801HB/HR (ICH8/R) rev B0
GPU Type : NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GTS
GPU Clocks : Core 513 MHz / RAM 792 MHz
DirectX Version : 11.0
RAM : 4096 MB DDR2 Dual Channel
RAM Speed : 375 MHz (1:1) @ 5-6-6-15
Slot 1 : 1024MB (6400)
Slot 1 Manufacturer : OCZ
Slot 2 : 1024MB (6400)
Slot 2 Manufacturer : OCZ
Slot 3 : 2048MB (6400)
Slot 3 Manufacturer : Corsair

Has anyone got any ideas as of what could be holding me back.
Im thinking mabye ram, mabye voltage of cpu/ram.

When i set the Fsb to 375 its all good and 3dmark06 gives me 9987, which is far from good for this setup, when set to 385 and up this results in a blue screen of death.

I am not used to overclocking but do not mind trying stuff out, so if you have got a clue please let me know :)
 

redduc900

Inactive Moderator
Joined
Dec 17, 2000
Location
Portland, OR
Moved to the Intel CPUs forum for you, as you'll get more responses here than in the OC Community forum... redduc900
 
OP
U

urlsen

New Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2011
Location
Copenhagen
Hi Wingman99

The VCore (i guess thats the core voltage) is at 1,200 @ 3ghz according to CpuZ
@ 3,3ghz the Core voltage was at 1,408
I had to revert to 3 ghz as it became unstabile on 3,3 :O
 

Attachments

  • Cpuz @ 3,3..jpg
    Cpuz @ 3,3..jpg
    105.2 KB · Views: 594
Last edited:

freeagent

Member
Joined
Sep 15, 2004
Location
Winnipeg!
Maybe its a chipset limitation, thats a fairly old mobo to be useing with that cpu. I had a p5bd back in the day and it took my old 6300 to 500fsb no problem, so it has to be that.. I was able to run my e8600 at 550fsb 24/7 on my old rampage formula, but I have a hard time getting it to run at 500fsb on my p5k, at least I did the last time I tried heh..
 
OP
U

urlsen

New Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2011
Location
Copenhagen
It could be the chipset, but its just mind boggeling that others do not have the same problem as me with similair specs, even the .
But yearh, its an old chipset....
I did originaly have my p4 on this board and when the 45 nm got released i updated the bios and swiched, it has worked as a charm. (but without overclock)
I will read the post Redduc900 thanks, the solution could be to bump the ram to 2,0-2,1v instead of the 1,8 its running now....
I have afeeling its the ram
 
Last edited:

||Console||

Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2004
What do you have as a HSF ? you have a C0 chip so it might need more voltage than what you are giving it .

take it off auto and set your voltages .
 
OP
U

urlsen

New Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2011
Location
Copenhagen
Im using the Gemin 2 cpu cooler with 2x 120mm pwm
http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?t=157753
sb, nb heat sink is the stock one.
It is on auto, so yes thats also my direction, giving more voltage but im just not sure where :)
Should i mess with the cpu voltage or ram voltage, or both (i doubt it will be the north bridge voltage)?

Im trying 2,0 for ram now, will post back
 
Last edited:
OP
U

urlsen

New Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2011
Location
Copenhagen
bumped to 2,0 voltagge and fsb 400...3,6 ghz... testing for stability..
Should i be causius of anything?
Vcore is now at 1,58 (still on auto)

Damn just ran 3dmark06 and 3,3ghz gave me 99XX and 3,6ghz gave me 46XX ?
I dont get it. :( if i set my vcore, what should it be at.. is 1,5 too high or not high enough?
 
Last edited:
OP
U

urlsen

New Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2011
Location
Copenhagen
Had to revert to stock speeds, as the system ran, and gave no BSOD, but ran sluggish and giving worse bench results than stock.
I will try the 1.4V setting intead of the auto, have been reading thru the postings from extremesystems redduc900 linked to...but theres allot :)

Have also scimmed quite a bit from Graysky`s post and see his timmings are
5 5 5 12 where mine are not the same for the two ram types i have, mabye causing some friction (dunno)
I am also unsure if the rams can handle the 2,0 and 2,1V i have been trying and i should stick with 1,8-1,95V as Graysky states that his cant go beyond 2,2V and his are superior to mine..(again dunno)

Ram:
OCZ 2x1GB DDR2 PC2-6400 Gold GX XTC 800MHz CL5-5-5-15
http://www.komplett.dk/k/ki.aspx?sku=338074
Cosair 2GB XMS2-6400 dimm's, CL5-5-5-18, 800MHz
http://www.ocztechnology.com/products/memory/ocz_ddr2_pc2_6400_gold_gx_xtc_dual_channel

I will try to follow the guidelines which have been posted but i dont get the same bios options with the same bord
as the ones shown in the forum posts, or some of the options are missing which is strange.

But im reading up on the other posts and will keep updated.. as i an doing something wrong if a 3ghz is faster than a 3,6ghz
 
Last edited: