• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

P4 2.6 running at 1.73???

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Hydrasport_kda

I am new to the PC modding world but when I realized what I was missing I jumped in feet first. Bought a barebones kit and decided to put one together. Have spent hours searching the web for info and found this site... Great Site.

Now..my problem. I downloaded WCPUID and it says my P4 is running 1.7GHz, not the 2.6 that I paid for. What gives?

Where do I start in determining what is my problem?

Go into your BIOS, and rasie the FSB.

Is it a P4 2.6C? If so, the multiplyer is locked at 13, so an FSB of 200 will give you 2..6....

Also, an INTEL CPU should say upon boot what cpu it is.

For instance, mine says INTEL 2.6, and detects clockspeeds at 3.3 Ghz.

OK. My BIOS detects the P4 2.6 but it then indicates the 1.7GHz number.

I checked the SOYO website and it says the mobo supports 800Mhz FSB (using special instructions).

It indicates that in order to increase the FSB, remove the FSB jumper, and then manually set the cpu frequency to 200 and then it should work.

I tried that and it indicates my memory is frequency is now 333MHz and with the jumper in the default position (auto detect) it says it is at 352MHz. Irrelevent to the issue for now I assume but I bought PC3200 400MHz memory...of which the mobo supports 333/266.

Am I making sense? Do I just need to spend some time with the BIOS?

Thanks for the reply and sorry for the length of mine.