• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

"ASUS M5A78L-M/USB3, Socket-AM3+" Phenom II x6 2.8

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

dsh2010

Hi I have this board and a Phenom II x6 2.8Ghz 1055T TDP 130 Watt

I am attempting to overclock this however i am a noob with this stuff, I have already got Prime95, HWMonitor and CPUZ, Is this anything else i need and do I have to overclock in BIOS or is there a way to do it in Windows 7?

Any Info Would be Much Appreciated

Thanks

David :)

Welcome

:welcome: to the forums.

I have not seen any of us that help most of the posters overclock their cpu/system, that ever recommend software overclocking.

AMD has a pretty good overclocking guide for their own AOD software for their cpus on motherboards with an AMD chipset. You can google AMD AOD and likely find a tutorial on using it.

Some Asus mobo's have a % overclock in the bios and you could use it if you are into AUTO overclocking. Probably an Asus mobo forum is best suited to describing Asus Auto overclocking.

If you choose however to learn the bios overclock, then there are a few things that would be best to do at the beginning since it is best started at the beginning.

There is either a 'number' of posts limit or a time limit before you can make a signature that is extremely important to the process.

My how to put up Sig at OCF.

New Shortcut method for putting a Signature with your system information following your every post so people can know what is in the case that they are trying to assist with. You can use something like what is shown in my signature as a good template of needed information Thank you.

Now as soon as possible get a signature done. Again not sure I know the limit in place before you can make and display signature.