• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

help me overclock iv never tried

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

DanozDirect

Registered
I have a m3a32 deluxe mobo
and have a 4870 x2
iv just got a am3 965 be to stop bottlenecking the beast
Im not sure where to start i dont know weather i should start with just multiplyer or do i need to change all the voltages to?

I have a hyper212 coolmaster cooler which drops stock cpu temps by 15 deg
plenty of circulation

Id like to run 3.8 to 4 gig it should cope with this easily
can any1 help me
I feel like a noob and i dont like it

thanx

:welcome: to the Forums!

There are many good threads for you to read through and one about OC'ing the Phenom II in particular - Dolk's Guide: http://www.ocforums.com/showthread.php?t=596023

For starters download Prime95 and CoreTemp OR OCCT then check your load temp. Prime95 doesn't have built-in temp readings, OCCT does. Idle temp has nothing do to with overclocking and any time we ask about temps we mean 100% CPU load temps.
OCCT
Prime95
CoreTemp

Next up, you should familiarize yourself with your BIOS since that is your main OC tool. At a minimum you should manually set your vCore (CPU voltage), vDIMM (RAM voltage), and RAM timings to their stock numbers. RAM timings and voltage can be found using CPU-Z's SPD tab. A good place to start for CPU voltage is the stock 1.35v.

Now you're set to start OC'ing! :)
- Raise your CPU multiplier by one and test for stability by running P95 or OCCT for 3-5 min. Also check your load temp at this time.
- If it doesn't error and your CPU temp is at or below 55°C then reboot and repeat.
- If it does error and your CPU temp is at or below 55°C then raise the vCore 0.05v and repeat.
You can keep doing this until your vCore is at 1.45v or your load temp is over 55°C.