• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

SOLVED OC in BIOS doesn't take? Asus M5A97 Phenom II 975BE

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

gearhead2578

Hi all. I'm no expert on this (hence I came here) Trying to OC an Asus M5A97 with a Phenom II x4 975 BE (deneb) in BIOS. I turned the bus up modestly to 205 and set the multiplier at 20 going for 4100MHz. Problem is, in testing with OCCT or Prime95, CPU-z (and the Asus AI monitor) shows the clock only reaching 3200MHz - the bus shows 205 but the multiplier will only go to 14.5.... Heat is stable, I've installed the Antec H2o 620, so it's not throttling (47C max) what gives??

Did you save the BIOS settings on exit? Do you have Cool N Quiet and C1E disabled in bios? If not, do so. Also, go into Windows Control Panel Power Options and set the power scheme to High Performance. That should turn off all the green, throttle-down energy saving stuff that messes with overclocking in the higher ranges. Download and run CPU-Z and HWmonmitor.Also post screen shots of HWmonitor and CPU-Z(showing memory and SPD tabs)

I know anything later than 0902 and it cancels the CPU NB overclock, but i have never seen one where it will not let you set the CPU multiplier above 14.5, Which is also to low for a Phenom II x4 975 BE, that should be @ 18x

14.5 sounds more like a 1055t, in which case you would not be able to turn up the multiplier, as that's a locked CPU.

Please install this

And give us a screen shot like you see below.

Attachments

• Capture.PNG
    Capture.PNG
    34 KB · Views: 199
Last edited:
That did the trick, madman - it was cool'n'quiet tryin to keep it pedestrian! Got Prime95 running now and testing the radiator......

7260403142_2259fd5e3d_z.jpg
oc4 by welder3078, on Flickr